I used to Climb Trees

Earlier in the week I was walking down the street practicing mindfulness. I just have to say I don’t particularly like the phrase “practicing” anything but I feel this is the best choice of words to communicate my frame of mind.

With that said… there I am walking down this neighborhood street in Tempe, Arizona and I walk by a tree. This tree I’ve passed by for several weeks now but there was something drastically different this day. To tell you the truth I’m not sure if I noticed the tree or if it noticed me.

So there I was… standing still, motionless with the exception of an occasional batting of the eyes so that I could maintain this new clarity. There was a fantastic calm and abundance of energy looking at this beautiful tree. There it stood leaning back with a lazy posture amongst the grass hugged by bushes and inhabited by a family of singing birds… there it stood alone, just like me.

As I’m observing the beautiful brown bark, green leaves and crooked twigs a rush of thoughts and emotions flooded my mind… I smiled!

I was taken back to a time in my youth were there wasn’t a tree safe in my neighborhood… if there was a tree it was going to be climbed. In what seemed like several minutes was in all actuality just a few seconds, now I was continuing on with my walk (to the bus stop).

As I sat on the bus and reflected on what had just happened and wondered to myself, when did I stop climbing trees? It has been several years since I climbed a tree… why?

I remembered how exciting it was to climb trees, the adventure I enjoyed it immensely. Up in the trees there was a different world, a different perspective, peace and quiet.

I miss those days, sitting up there squatting on my perch like a wild monkey away from the household chores, homework and the bully on the bus. I miss my sanctuary and I wonder if I can find a similar solace now that I’m an adult.

Do I have it in me to climb a tree and leave the troubles, anxieties and responsibilities of this so called life down there. Can I find my way outside of all the distractions so that I can see clearly what is really happening in the world?

I think I can…

I know I can…

Only now I don’t have to climb up a tree to get to that place, the tree and I are one… like I notice the tree, the tree notices me, I’m a reflection of the tree and the tree is a reflection of me. My sanctuary isn’t up in the trees anymore but rather inside myself, its just a matter of taking the time to go there NOW.

Seeing that tree, taking notice, being aware and observing the way I did was a reminder that I can be here right now any time I want and right now is where its all happening, this is where its at not back then or tomorrow but right now.

In order to live a life of virtue and bring about the change that is needed in our world it will be from minds that are aware of this. The change that is coming, the change that is happening right now is being nurtured and cared for by the minds that are here right now.

There are those who are still unaware there are those who still walk past the tree without taking notice but now isn’t going anywhere and the people that have awakened to the now will still be here when those are ready to be here now too.

Namaste,


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment