What Does Freedom Mean To You?

freedom

I just finished up a nice meeting with a friend that I hadn’t seen in a very long time. This friend of mine I don’t think she’d mind if I’d mentioned her name… Amber. Amber and I have been friends for several years now 17 if I’m not mistaken. In any case as good friends do Amber and I talked about all the usual stuff that friends talk about having not seen one another in many months, who are you seeing now, how is your family doing, etc.

After about an hour of catching up the conversation took a delightful detour from the predestined script of mundane and typical and we dove into a spontaneous dialog about “freedom” and that is what I would like to reflect on now.

The conversation started of with me telling her about all the hurt I see in the world now and wanting to make some changes. She then inquired what I was doing and if I had looked into any organizations or if I was thinking about starting an organization to get people together and “make change”. I replied to her that no I wasn’t looking to join any organization nor was I compelled to start any organization myself. I then went on to tell her how I actually didn’t think me starting or joining any organization would do any good, especially at this moment in my life.

Amber didn’t know what I had meant by that so I went on and explained.

I explained that I didn’t see how I could possible join or start an organization when I in fact am unorganized. I think a better word to use opposed to unorganized would be “conditioned”. I explained that I have awaken to the fact that I am in fact conditioned and along with that I’m starting to see that everyone around me is conditioned as well.

I can see that the conditioning for me is like looking through a lens, a dirty lense and I’m trying to see the world, reality for what it really is.

I now know that YES I am conditioned and everything that I’ve thought or been told up to this point has been through the filter of conditioning and other peoples knowledge. Everything I know, who I am, what I’m about, the way I walk and talk, etc., is all based on knowledge, knowledge from the past. Seeing this now I’m making an effort to find out who I truly am, break away from this past knowledge.

Amber then went on to say that well if I want to make some change in the world that I would need to actually do something. I can’t just think about doing something and not do anything. I said well that’s what I’m doing… I’m going into myself and investigating my conditioning… getting myself in order. I then concluded that once I get myself in order then perhaps I’ll be able to go into starting an organization or joining one but until that point all my energy is going into the awareness of my conditioning and observing that.

So that was settled and I think Amber now has a better idea of where I’m coming from and where my head is at. The conversation continued on and we started to talk about the state of affairs in the world. I then commented on all the separation in the world our nations, states, religions, sects within religions, etc. I then went on to say that it is a shame for most people in the world don’t even know they are conditioned and are completely unaware that they are sleeping and not free.

Amber playing devil’s advocate then said she disagreed. She said my idea of freedom might not be the idea of what someone else believes freedom to be. She then asked me what is freedom to me? I couldn’t answer the question right away and started to look off into the distance to try and gather the words to communicate exactly what freedom is to me.

At the moment I couldn’t pull the words together, about 30 seconds of silence went by before Amber jokingly suggested that we look up “freedom” on the internet. Luckily we where sitting in Starbucks and I had my laptop with me. This is what we found:

free⋅dom

  1. the state of being free or at liberty rather than in confinement or under physical restraint: He won his freedom after a retrial.
  2. exemption from external control, interference, regulation, etc.
  3. the power to determine action without restraint.

After reading aloud the definition from dictionary.com once I got to number 3 on the list “the power to determine action without restraint.” that jolted my brain and the words I was looking for fell into place.

Before I share with you what the definition of freedom is I would like to mention that Amber and I did go back and forth with wit and words playing a verbal game of chess but in the end I think we both agreed that no matter what words came out of our mouths… FREEDOM is a fact.

One can have all the ideas in the world about what freedom is, one can talk about it all day and one can have a sense of what freedom is but when you get right down to it, having a sense of what freedom is, or and idea of what freedom is… is not FREEDOM.

With that said here is what I told Amber: Freedom is having the ability to be aware and observe what is going on around you 100% of the time and from that awareness and observation if you act and behave completely from love… that is true freedom. If you can act 100% of the time from love and not live or act with any measure of fear then you are truly a FREE human being.

I think I’ll leave you all with that. I’m glad that I talked with my dear friend today it was an elightening experience… the above words don’t really do it any justice however out of this reflection perhaps you will want to share what freedom is for you.

I would also like to mention that the graphic I chose for this particular blog post was one of the first ones that randomly came up searching flickr.com . How fitting a graphic to randomly find, “Freedom From Fear”.

Peace and love,
~ Echo

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

